Farsons Old Brewery House
After being the core of the operations for over 60 years, in 2012 a new brewhouse was inaugurated and the old one was declared a grade 2 scheduled building. AX Construction was entrusted with the prestigious project to convert this iconic building into a visitors’ attraction, including a cafeteria and sky bar.
The majority of the works consisted of the restoration of the original in-situ reinforced concrete with which the building was constructed. Other works carried out included the reconstruction of damaged areas and formation of new openings in existing reinforced concrete walls and in existing slabs. The civil works also included the construction of the rooftop bar which can be accessed through the new staircases and lifts, a new plant enclosure supported by a separate steel structure, and other steel elements including the Main Entrance Steel Bridge.
The iconic Farsons Old Brewery House was built in the 1950s after the post-war merger between Simonds Farsons Limited and The Malta Export Brewery. The new company expanded their production to soft drinks, and in 1952, the locally acclaimed ‘Kinnie’ was introduced.